Screw Apple watch; I want a Neptune Hub

Standard

Neptune HubWhile the world is in an ongoing buzz over the over-hyped, over-priced Apple Smart Watch, and actively comparing it to other smartwatch offerings from various manufacturers, some of us are enjoying the news around Canadian inventor Simon Tian’s concept, the Neptune Hub, expected to be available later this year.  Put simply, this is the future of personal computing and communications that I look forward to… because I’ve already written about and used it myself.

Tian’s Neptune Hub is unique because it represents a different overall configuration for personal computing: The device worn around your wrist is literally the Hub of your computer and communications system, the source of your files and computing power, and you access it through its own display and through the use of peripheral extensions.

And this is no mere concept or Kickstarter: Neptune will run on an Android system, and you’ll be able to own this as soon as this year.

It makes a lot of sense to keep your personal files and applications close, and access them as you need them either directly or through devices optimized for certain tasks.  In some of my own novels, I’d conceptualized the pocket- or wrist-worn device as the primary communicator and file manager, with conversations carried on through a wireless earpiece and mic, and larger screens or tabletop devices that would be utilized as needed to handle tasks and document editing that was more easily done on larger surfaces.  The Neptune Hub is the embodiment of my conceptions.

In fact, I do something similar right now: My important documents are stored on my smartphone, kept with me at all times, and I can either access most of those files on the phone, or connect it to my work or personal computer when I want to manipulate some files, like Photoshop art, or extensively edit others, like long Word documents.  I also keep the phone’s contents backed up, of course, in case something happens to it… but my files and docs stay with me wherever I go.

If you think about it, this system can also provide heightened security: If your docs are with you, they can’t be stolen from a laptop or desktop after you walk away from it.  Biometric recognition and permissions could also be tied into it, instead of easily-divined or captured passwords, for further security.  Because of its physical contact with you, it could conceivably send out a warning if it was forcibly removed—and if it monitors health data, it can send an alert if the wearer is injured, sick or incapacitated, protecting your health as well as your data.

I personally hope the Neptune system, and others like it, will become the norm for personal computing.  I also happen to like the wrist-worn device, which by the way looks much snazzier than the Apple watch. It may be pricey to jump on board the minute it’s available… but keep an eye on it for the next year or so, and it may promise to be the device of tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “Screw Apple watch; I want a Neptune Hub

  1. mokarney

    You are high if you think Neptune is actually capable of making this device in a timely manner. I backed the Neptune Pine which was a disaster.

    They hyped it up with such lofty promises, only to deliver a sub-par product that sits in my junk drawer.

    While the concept is there, no way can Neptune actually execute their idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If it’s a good idea (which I think it is), there’s always the possibility that Neptune will sell the concept so others can produce it, or that others will improve on it with their own versions. Multiple vendors offering versions of the Hub system to mix and match as desired… that’s something to look forward to.

      Like

    • Its a good idea but definitely will not get this from neptune. I’ll wait until samsung copy the idea. And I agree that Neptune pine is not capable of making this device professionally. I’m still waiting for my accessories for my Neptune pine. No more hype for me. 🙂

      Like

  2. Brad

    So if you lose it (or if it breaks down), you lose absolutely everything. Unlike, say, cloud-stored files. That makes no sense. Also, you complain that the iWatch at $349 is too expensive yet you hawk a $800 product. Also makes no sense.

    Like

    • One word: Backup. It’s right there in the pitch.

      And the reason I didn’t like the iWatch price is that the watch is the peripheral. The Hub is a completely different system, potentially replacing all of the other stuff you’ve got.

      Like

    • David Gartee

      Not to mention the apple watch STARTS at 350 made with the cheapest materials. The prices just go up from there with the “best value” to workmanship/material being at least 550 and is still dependent on the iPhone.

      Like

  3. Author Hugh B. Long responded through Facebook:

    “Concept sounds great, but there’s the practical challenge of computing power in a wearable form factor. Can I do video editing from a CPU the size of a watch? Not yet I can’t. Concept is great though.”

    My response (edited once):

    “True, the Hub is designed for doc storage and basic processing. But that’s what the peripherals are for, to provide the specialized tools and additional processing power for such work.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

