Advertisement: Take 2

Standard

buy_my_booksI’m giving consideration to placing ads in some upcoming science fiction convention programs/promo books.  I say “giving consideration,” because the last few times I’ve tried to promote myself at conventions, it hasn’t worked out. At all.

Most recently, there was a query I sent to an upcoming convention about sending an add.  They lost me email for a month, then “found” it and contacted me with 2-3 days to produce an ad and send it to them.  Since I didn’t want to rush an ad that would be half-assed and probably unsuccessful, I had to blow them off.  Other conventions didn’t even answer my queries.

Before that, I went to AwesomeCon, hoping that an appearance as a panelist would get me a promo boost.  It did nothing.  (Okay, it was primarily a comic book crowd, heavier on fantasy than science fiction… but still, not even a few token sales.  Zip.  Zero.  Zilch.  Nada.)

Before that, I prepared 500 full-color promo cards to go into the swag bags of every convention-goer at Balticon.  The entire box of cards was lost by Balticon staff before going into the bags.  (I should have sued to recover my production costs.)

Needless to say, convention promotion has not been very good to me.

I’ll decide in the next few days, which will give me about 2 weeks to get my first ad prepared (using material from the promos I’ve prepared for this blog).  Anyone reading this who has an opinion on the efficacy of convention promo ads, now’s the time to let your voice be heard.

Leave a Reply

