The GOP war on science

Standard

My New Best Friend at IO9, Mark Strauss, has contributed an excellent sample from a hearing held by the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology to review the White House’s fiscal year 2015 budget request for science agencies. As illustrated in the article, various GOP leaders, the very people who ruin the United States of America (excuse me, I meant “run”—Freudian slip.  heh), managed, very deftly, to prove how little they know, and how little they want to know, about science and how the planet works.  The snippets Strauss found are more than sobering; they’re downright nauseating.  (If you’re really into masochism, feel free to watch the 2-hour video of the hearing.)

I started to write a multi-page rant about how disgusting this situation, and the GOP party, is… and when I was done, I erased it. You’ve heard it a million times, and you don’t need it once more from me. I don’t want to be thought of as a political columnist. Life’s too short.

In fact, life’s too short to waste brain cells thinking about men who are so willfully ignorant, even contemptuous, of basic science, the single greatest man-made process ever conceived, and that has provided them with the food, water, electricity, properties, cars, finances, communications, entertainment and medicine that makes their very existence possible.

So I’ll just say, from my heart: IGNORANCE IN OUR GOVERNMENT MUST NOT BE TOLERATED.  STOP THESE MEN FROM RUINING OUR LIVES AND OUR FUTURES.

 

Leave a Reply

